Locals Recognized as Fitzpatrick Award Semifinalists

PORTLAND, MAINE (WABI)- The 2017 Fitzpatrick Award semifinalists announced today. It's the 47th season the trophy will go to the state's top high school football player. There are 12 semifinalists. The locals are Foxcroft Academy's Nick Clawson. He quarterbacked the Ponies to the northern Maine championship in class D and a state runner up finish.

MDI's Colby Lee had a huge year running the football. He was the home run running back for the Trojans who finished region runner up in class C north.

Maybe the most athletic and explosive wide receiver in the state, Cony's Jordon Roddy getting some recognition as a semifinalist as well.

And Madison's Sean Whalen. He had a tremendous season for the Bulldogs helping carry them to a runner up finish in class D south.

There are 8 other players from southern Maine up for the award. Voting for finalists goes until December 15th. The award winner is announced January 14th.