Maine state senators choose leadership in Augusta

By  | 

AUGUSTA, Maine (WMTW) - State senators selected new leadership on Thursday.

Maine State House at Augusta, Maine

Both Republicans and Democrats made their picks.

Allagash Senator Troy Jackson is expected to be the new senate president.

Waldoboro Senator Dana Dow is the new minority leader. He believes he was chosen because he understands the needs of the state.

"Being in this position represents that to me. It's more than just running things here," Dow said.

"The things that we think are so important to people in the state as democrats should not be partisan. we shouldn't have to worry about falling into that trap," Jackson said

The selections will be finalized when the legislature reconvenes in December.