Maine's 2018 County Teachers of the Year honored at State House

By  | 

AUGUSTA, Maine. (WABI) Teachers from each of Maine's sixteen counties were honored at the State House Thursday.

Maine County Teachers of the Year are nominated by their community for their exemplary service in education and dedication to their students.

It's a program of the Maine Department of Education, administered by Educate Maine.

They received 350 nominations this year from all across the state.

The winners were selected by a panel of teachers, principals, and business and community leaders.

Last year's Piscataquis County Teacher of the Year, Kaitlin Young, is this year's Maine Teacher of the Year.

She was excited to take part in Thursday's celebration.

"I love the energy and excitement in this room because it's an opportunity to celebrate teachers and what you do every day. And it couldn't be more fitting that it is Teacher Appreciation Week, to be gathered here at the State House to celebrate outstanding educators who love their students, love their schools, and now have the opportunity to advocate in the state and national level," said Young.

"One of the sixteen teachers will actually, this fall, be selected as the Maine State Teacher of the Year, and they will then go on to represent Maine among all 50 states on the national stage. So it's very exciting," said Ed Cervone, Executive Director of Educate Maine.

Maine's County Teachers of the Year will continue to participate in an intensive selection process to determine next year's State Teacher of the Year.

2018 County Teachers of the Year:
Androscoggin: Katie Toothaker, Minot Consolidated School
Aroostook: William “Bill” Guerrette, Presque Isle Middle School
Cumberland: Connie Russell, Mabel I. Wilson School
Franklin: Jessica Ellingwood, Spruce Mountain High School
Hancock: Jennifer Farnham, Hancock Grammar School
Kennebec: Katy Jones, Winslow Junior High School
Knox: Anthony Lufkin, Friendship Village School, Prescott Memorial School, Union Elementary
Lincoln: Daniel Hupp, Great Salt Bay Community School
Oxford: Jessica McGreevy, Oxford Hills Middle School
Penobscot: Shana Goodall, Orono High School
Piscataquis: Joseph Hennessey, Piscataquis Community High School
Sagadahoc: Christine Del Rossi, Mt. Ararat High School
Somerset: Patti Champagne, Bloomfield Elementary
Waldo: David Coffey, Belfast Area High School and Troy Howard Middle School
Washington: Kailee Colbeth, Washington Academy
York: Kristin Klin, Bonny Eagle Middle School